Ashley Jones, healthcare administrator at Abernethy Laurels

Ashley Jones Selected for Leadership Catawba 2022-23

Ashley Jones, Abernethy Laurels’ Healthcare Administrator, has been selected as a member of the Leadership Catawba cohort for 2022-23.

Leadership Catawba is the longest running program at the Chamber of Catawba County and has educated and equipped hundreds of Catawba County residents with information about the social, economic, and political dynamics of the community. The program kicks off in August 2022 with orientation and a team-building retreat and concludes in March 2023 with graduation.

As part of the eight-month program, participants will be immersed in a variety of community issues and challenges, including Reinventing Community, Telling our Story, Serving our Community, Building for Jobs, Work Force Connectivity, and Small Business and Entrepreneurship. The program challenges each participant to be an effective and influential leader through personal commitment and involvement.

Ashley Jones, healthcare administrator at Abernethy Laurels

Ashley Jones is the Administrator for Abernethy Laurels’ skilled nursing unit.

For each of its annual sessions, Leadership Catawba gathers 35 business and community leaders of diverse backgrounds and experiences who have demonstrated leadership potential. Each participant graduates with approximately 16 hours of situational leadership training from an array of community leaders and contracted consultants.

Jones, who was raised in Newton, NC, has been employed with Abernethy Laurels since 2014. A graduate of Appalachian State University, she holds a degree in Health Care Management, is certified and licensed as a Nursing Home Administrator, and is a Certified Professional in Aging Services Risk Management (CPASRM). Jones completed her Administrator in Training (AIT) program at Abernethy Laurels under executive director Amber McIntosh prior to her current role and has also worked as a certified nursing assistant and a social worker.

Other members of the 2022-23 Leadership Catawba cohort include Alison Alexander, Catawba County Government; Louise Atkinson, Cintas Corporation; Anne Bogen, Carolina Caring Foundation, Inc.; Timothy “Darren” Chewning, Conover Fire Department; Jennifer Cline, US Conec, Ltd.; Porscha Corpening, First Horizon Bank; Todd Cutter, Lenoir-Rhyne University; Chrystal Dieter, Hickory Metro Convention Center & Visitors Bureau; Jeffrey Eudy, Catawba Valley Health System; Roseann Flowers, Hickory Real Estate Group; Ashley Grindstaff, NC School of Science and Mathematics-Morganton; Seth Jarrett, Realty Executives of Hickory & Lake Norman; Brandon Killian, Davidson, Holland, Whitesell & Co., PLLC, CPAs; Lala Kozischek, YMCA of Catawba Valley; Michael McCourt, Atriax PLLC; Amy McGhinnis, Martin Starnes & Associates CPAs, PA; Tina McGillvary, NC Cooperative Extension, Catawba County; Jonathan McGinnis, HSM Solutions; Morgan McNeil, Young, Morphis, Bach & Taylor, LLP; Ann Metz, Frye Regional Medical Center; Lori Miller, Hickory Police Department; Emily Mitchell, Hickory Crawdads Baseball, Inc.; Antaijah Monroe, WestRock; Sharon (Sherry) Morgan, Hickory Parks, Recreation & Sports Tourism; Vu Nguyen, Republic Services; Amy Ogle, Hickory Downtown Development Association; Kelsey Pfaff, Century Furniture; Kimberly Propst, Catawba Valley Community College; Alexandria Scarborough, Catawba County Partnership for Children; Kaitlin Sigmon, Manufacturing Solutions Center at CVCC; Todd Watson, Just Dump It – Dumpster Rentals and Junk Removal; Adam Wehunt, Vanguard Furniture, Inc.; Kelsey Williams, Safe Harbor; Ben Willis, Western Piedmont Council of Governments; and Mary Yount, City of Newton.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This